GDPR Compliance

Please make Builder GDPR compliant, so people from EU can use it. I am not an expert, but it defenetly needs following changes:

• IP anonymization
  • Cookie Consent Popup for visitors (only save cookies after consent)
  • Allow Website visitors to disable tracking

Hi @Jakob_G! Thanks for reaching out.

Builder is fully GDPR and CCPA compliant.

To turn off off cookies/tracking/localstorage, etc set

builder.canTrack = false;

If you allow your customers to opt-in to cookies and tracking, then you can listen to the same prompt/dialog to change tracking preferences and turn on/off Builder cookies and tracking accordingly

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

Hi maddy,

thank you for the reply.

How do you disable tracking when using Builder HTML API?

You are recording the number of page views anyway, right? What Information do you collect there? Do you save IP addresses of the visitors?Because I think they need to be anonymised to be GDPR compliant.

For the HTML API, you can set a window variable to window.builderNoTrack = true. Builder doesn’t store any personally identifiable information in our request logs (ie no visitor id if tracking is off).

Hi Maddy,

Is there any way to remove the builderSessionId cookie? It is still created even when canTrack is set to false.

Many thanks!

hey @josh - when canTrack = false (or window.builderNoTrack = true) no cookies are set, including builderSeesionId

Are there any access/delete APIs available?

Thanks,

Hannah

Hello @hbarnstone, we don’t have any APIs to access/delete user data since we do not track any personally identifiable end-user information. As mentioned above you can also set builder.canTrack = false``; to disable any tracking.

I’m setting builder.canTrack = false before I call builder.init in the @builder.io/vue@0.1.11 and builderSessionId cookie is still set. How can I disable setting this cookie?