How not to do support

I am a business owner with multiple stores on Shopify.

I am not a developer but come from a technical background (network, infrastructure).

I wanted to setup a few new stores in different markets using different strategies and came across ‘headless’ CMS/eCommerce.

Having a decoupled frontend and backend setup to run my projects seemed like a good idea (and still is).

For my eCommerce platform, I zeroed in on Swell.

For the frontend, builder dot io seemed to check all the boxes. 40 bucks for each space/store. It includes heatmaps and analytics (no more hotjar). They even had a Shopify app - all good reviews barring a few disgruntled folks who had a bad support experience.

How bad could that be?

Pretty, pretty pretty bad

I sign up on Friday for the top tier Growth plan.

I connect my domain, follow the instructions. Easy peasy, all done!
DNS records propagated.

I create a /about page just to test and play around with builder dot io

I cannot view the draft or view the URL I just created.

The support seems to be away as it is Friday.

I can’t seem to figure out, so I send an email to help at builder dot io. I include all the details, screenshots etc.

I get a reply asking for my Public API key. Okay, here is my Public API Key.

For some reason the support was off on Monday! To your credit, you did mention you’d be back on Tuesday!

So, I get a response from support and it is so anti-climatic:

Thanks! This would actually be a great question for our technical team. Would you mind sharing this in [our forum] along with your public API key, tech stack, and the error you’re running into?

Are you kidding me? :rage: :rage: :rage: :rage:

Then why ask for my Public API Key in the first place? Why give me the hope that you’d help or that you are looking into this?

I agree to do so, because I have no choice but I share my disappointment and ask if this is how you treat paid customers?

I get a boilerplate response: