How to create a mega menu in the visual editor (no code)

What are you trying to accomplish
e.g. I want to build a multi-column, full-width mega menu using the visual editor

I’m a UX designer and my design team is still familiarizing themselves with the visual editor. We found tutorials on how to add simple drop downs to navigation links, but we are not sure how we would build a multi-column full width mega menu with category columns and images. Is this something that is possible to build in the visual editor?

Here is an example:

Hi, so I made a video explaining the logic of how to get overlay menus to show on hover. Basically when the mouse enters the title area such as “Men” you can have an element event on that element that sets “state.showMenu = true” (or whatever name you want to pick for it) and then set the menu’s Element Data Bindings to Show if “state.showMenu”. I made the title and the menu itself contained inside of a box and positioned the megamenu with absolute positioning. You can add columns and images just as you would in any other part of the visual editor.

Let me know if this is what you’re looking for or if you have further questions or need more clarity.

Thanks,
Andreas
Customer Engineer @ Builder.io

Hey thanks so much! I shared the video with my team. This should be helpful.

1 Like

Hi Andreas, I have a question on how you setup the styling on the header links. How did you set those up so that they overflow below the header (to make room for the menu overlay)?

Hmm not 100% sure what you’re asking but to make the menu appear below the header links I used the css “position”: “absolute” and used the css property “top” to move the menu down.

As far as making the links appear horizontally across the page I used “inner layout” → “row” in the visual editor.
Screenshot 2023-11-07 at 12.11.40 PM

Let me know if this is unclear or if its not what you were asking! Hope that helps.