Publishes are very slow, sometimes never finish

I’m trying to publish changes to my page today and it’s being super slow. When I open up devtools in my browser, I can see successful network requests to Firebase, so I know that it’s doing something, but the process just gets stuck on the “Publishing…” modal with the spinner.

I end up having to refresh the page, and when I do that I generally lose some amount of the unpublished work, i.e., it doesn’t show up in my draft anymore. So then I have to start all over again, which is frustrating.

Is this related to the hosting issues from earlier today? I’m a new Builder user and I absolutely love this tool already, but I can’t use it if it’s going to be unreliable.

@ersin it is possible it is related to issues from earlier, we can try to look into it. In the meantime, it is possible to save your work without publishing. We are constantly taking snapshots of your page, and if you ever want to save at a specific time, hitting command + S will save a Checkpoint. You can then access these checkpoints, as well as your Published and autosaved snapshots from the History tab within the visual editor. Clicking revert will revert back to that point in time. Please see below:

video-to-gif-converter

You can read more on our history and version tracking here: History in Builder.io - Builder.ioProcessing: saveCheckpoint.mp4…

Hi @TimG, thanks for the suggestion. I upgraded to the paid version so that I could access history and checkpoints, as you suggested. When I hit Command + S, it tells me that I’ve saved a checkpoint. Unfortunately, when I go to look for it, there are no checkpoints listed and all my work has been lost :frowning_face:.

The timeout appears to be correlated with the number of changes that I introduce to a page. If I do just a few and then hit publish, it doesn’t timeout. But if I’ve been editing the page for 5-10 minutes or more, it tends to get stuck.